Grading and Feedback includes options such as whether to send grades to the Gradebook, the score that is recorded if a student has multiple submissions, and the types of feedback you make available to students.
Recorded Score options include either the highest score or the last score, or an average score of all a student's submissions. The default setting is to record the highest score. If you allow multiple attempts, select the type of score that you want to be recorded for that assessment.
Note: If you choose the option to Allow Retake for a student, and the assessment only allows one submission, the submission you'll see will depend on the Recorded Score setting. If your assessment includes manually graded questions, and you already graded it before allowing the student to retake it, the highest score will most likely be the first submission. You might need to change an assessment setting (either the Recorded Score or number of submissions allowed) after all the students have completed the assessment to view the retake results.
The default setting here is that students' identities can be seen by graders.
However, if you want to the submissions with submission IDs only, check the box next to Hide student identity from grader.
Note: The Anonymous grading setting differs from the option to release the survey to Anonymous Users. You CAN change the Anonymous grading setting in the Grading and Feedback section after grading to see the students' names, but you CANNOT change the Assessment Released to Anonymous Users setting.
If you want to send grades to the Gradebook, select the check box next to Send assessment score to Gradebook immediately, regardless of options below.
Note: If you send grades to the Gradebook, scores will be sent immediately upon submission of the assessment. If you have any questions that are not automatically scored (e.g., short answer/essay, file upload), grades may appear to be artificially low until you enter scores for these questions. You can also wait until after all questions have been graded, and then change the setting for this assessment in the Published Copies tab to send grades to the Gradebook.
Feedback Delivery controls if and when students are able see their submission results.
If you select Feedback will be displayed to the student on specific dates additional options will appear which allow you to specify:
You can also decide how much feedback you want to release to students.
Tip: If you are concerned about students sharing their exam results with one another, you should choose either No Feedback or Feedback on a specific date in the feedback type area above. Selecting a feedback date after the closing date for the assessment will prevent students from sharing feedback with other students who have not yet taken the test.